Contact Us

State Literacy Awards

Administered by the Library of Congress Center for Learning, Literacy, and Engagement, the Library of Congress State Literacy Awards program recognizes organizations or programs that have made outstanding and innovative contributions to promoting literacy and/or reading in the local community or state. These awards are made possible through the generous support of David M. Rubenstein.

State affiliates of the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress are invited to select one nominee from their state to compete for one of up to ten awards. The 2019 winning nominees are listed on the Library of Congress State Literacy Awards site.

In Arkansas, libraries may nominate organizations that serve a county, region, or statewide community. Organizations nominated cannot operate on a for-profit basis.

Arkansas State Library staff members will review nomination applications and select one literacy project/program to nominate to the Library of Congress. The chosen Arkansas nominee will receive a certificate of recognition from the Arkansas Center for the Book.

If the Arkansas nominee receives one of the ten possible awards from the Library of Congress, the award amount will be $2,225.

Applicants will be asked to describe the nominated organization’s literacy project/program and the impact that the project/program has made. If selected, the Arkansas Center for the Book may ask the organization to provide documentation to support the project’s/program’s nomination to the Library of Congress; such as accolades, articles, emails, or letters of reference.

The Arkansas Center for the Book will accept nominations through December 1, 2019.

Please submit nomination applications here.

Questions? Please contact Karen O’Connell, Coordinator of the Arkansas Center for the Book at:

Arkansas State Library
900 W. Capitol, Suite 100
Little Rock, AR 72201
Google Map | Contact Us