Contact Us

About the Federal Depository Library Program

The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) was established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to government information. Since 1813, depository libraries have safeguarded the public's right to know by collecting, organizing, maintaining, preserving, and assisting users with information published by the federal government. The FDLP provides U.S. government information at no cost to designated depository libraries throughout the country and territories. These depository libraries, in turn, provide local, no-fee access to government information in an impartial environment with professional assistance. The Program (FDLP) is governed by USC Title 44 and is administered by the Superintendent of Documents of the Government Printing Office.

The Arkansas State Library was designated a selective depository in 1978. In 1979, Senator Dale Bumpers designated the Library as the Regional Library for Arkansas. As a regional depository, the Arkansas State Library receives all of the publications distributed by the GPO and must retain at least one tangible copy of these publications permanently.

There are thirteen libraries in Arkansas designated to serve as selective federal depositories, representing 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th federal Congressional Districts. These libraries select documents based on their patron and library collection policy needs and are only required to retain documents for 5 years.

The Arkansas Federal and State Documents Depository program are mandated by A.C.A §§ 13-2-210 – 13-2-214, enacted by Act 489 of 1979.

Federal Documents Resources

This library is a congressionally designated depository for U. S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)

For more information, contact:


Arkansas State Library
900 W. Capitol, Suite 100
Little Rock, AR 72201
Google Map | Contact Us